2024 Wimbledon Championships 

Image Source: Alamy Stock Photo

2024 Wimbledon Championships 
ATP Tour 
WTA Tour
All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club 
Wimbledon, London, England
1-14 July 2024
Defending champion Carlos Alcaraz will face off with Russia's Daniil Medvedev in the semi-finals of the 2024 Wimbledon on 12 July.
Previous round 
Alcaraz booked his spot in the semi-finals after a nailbiter - defeating USA's Tommy Paul 5-7, 6-4, 6-2, 6-2 in an entertaining quarter-final clash on 9 July.
Medvedev, on the other hand, won it 6-7(7), 6-4, 7-6(4), 2-6, 6-3 against Jannik Sinner of Italy on 9 July to reach the semi-finals of the grand slam tournament.
Wimbledon record
Alcaraz is the reigning Wimbledon champion having defeated Novak Djokovic 1–6, 7–6(8–6), 6–1, 3–6, 6–4 to win the singles tennis title in 2023.
The Spaniard has won fourteen ATP Tour-level singles titles, including three major titles (at the 2022 US Open, 2023 Wimbledon, and 2024 French Open).
While Medvedev has reached Wimbledon's singles semi-finals in back-to-back tournaments and he will be keen to advance to the final for the first time. 
The 28-year-old is an experienced tennis player who has won 20 ATP Tour singles titles, including the 2021 US Open and 2020 ATP Finals.
What was said 
“This is my first time winning two matches on the Centre Court so this is a record already,” Medvedev said after securing his spot in the Wimbledon semi-finals.
“You can’t beat Jannik easy. At one moment he was not feeling good but I knew that could change. You want to make him suffer a bit more – in a good way. 
"But everything is well when it ends well, so I’m pretty happy.”
Head-to-Head record
This will be the seventh meeting between Alcaraz and Medvedev in a professional tournament.
Alcaraz has the upper hand in this rivalry having won five matches compared to Medvedev's two victories.
Their last meeting saw Alcaraz defeat Medvedev 7-6 (5), 6-1 for the second straight year in the BNP Paribas Open final. 

The last five Wimbledon singles champions (men)

2018 - Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2019 - Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2021 - Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2022 - Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2023 - Carlos Alcaraz (Spain)

The last five Wimbledon singles champions (women)

2018 -  Angelique Kerber (USA)
2019 -  Simona Halep (Romania)
2021 - Ashleigh Barty (Australia)
2022 - Elena Rybakina (Kazakhstan)
2023 - Markéta Vondroušová (Czech Republic)

Kick start a non-stop world of sports

Start your sport beting journey with Betway Malawi and  enjoy solid action and heart-racing thrills when you bet on soccer leagues such as the Spanish La Liga, the English Premier League, the Italian Serie A and many more.

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions download the Betway App and start playing on the go!


Published: 07/12/2024